A Place for the Broken, A Place for the Lost

TTCT

Where do broken hearts go
Can they find their way home
Back to the open arms
Of a love that’s waiting there

That Thing Called Tadhana is a movie that is so close to heart. I can watch it over and over again, or just play it within earshot and delightfully eavesdrop on the conversation of Anthony and Mace (the main characters) while I move around the house, doing chores.

Ten years ago I took a similar journey. On a whim, carrying only an overnight bag containing a day’s worth of clothes, I hopped on a Victory Liner bus to Baguio. I walked along Session Road, had breakfast at Cafe by the Ruins, and walked around the man-made lake at Burnham Park. While I was there I felt I was at the wrong destination. I couldn’t think of anything else to do in Baguio and I didn’t want to go back to Manila yet. Contemplating on the next thing to do, Sagada came to mind. Sagada?  I could hear my alter-ego saying  Seriously? You haven’t been to Sagada! That was in 2004, iPhone and Android were still non-existent. It was a different time, I could not simply ask Google map for directions. So how do I get there? I asked a lady peddler at Burnham Park where the bus terminal to Sagada was, and off I went.

I was seated beside a young lady that looked like a college student. I asked her how long the trip would be, she said more or less 8 hours. Eight hours?! She told me she was getting off somewhere before Sagada. How would I know if I already reached my destination? It would be 8 o’clock in the evening when I arrive. Where could I possibly spend the night? I was thankful that she was so nice and patient with me. She told me that the bus would stop right in front of Sagada Guest House.

I spent two nights and a day in Sagada. I met a honeymooning couple who was very kind to ask me to join them so I won’t be a lonely tourist. We went around town, spelunking at Sumaging Cave, and trekking along rice paddies to Bokong Falls. At the end of the day, I was dead tired.

Sumaging Cave

Yoghurt House

Unlike Anthony and Mace, I was not nursing a broken heart. But just like them, I left Sagada finding my way home. 🙂

From hugot lines (relatable excerpts) to Whitney Houston’s Where do Broken Heart’s Go, That Thing Called Tadhana absolutely hit the spot. I honestly am still suffering from LSS (last song syndrome) up until this time.

Two years ago, I took the Baguio-Sagada route again not to do another soul-searching journey but to attend my friends’ 10th year wedding anniversary celebration and renewal of vows in Besao, the town after Sagada. At the wedding reception, I met the owners of Yoghurt House and Gaia Cafe and Crafts. The former is already a fixture and the latter is a new resto that has become so popular within a short span of time and has been featured in the movie.

Someday soon, I’ll visit Sagada again to experience the sunrise at Kiltepan.

Leave a Reply

