We Love Her So

My grandmother had an accident in the bathroom. She tripped and broke a bone near her ankle after using the toilet, while trying to pick her cane up from the floor. She was 89 years old. The doctor said that surgery might be an option, but she had to undergo some tests to determine if her frail body could handle it. She was bound in bed for days now.

My mother said that grandma seemed to have lost some weight so quickly and had dark under eye circles. She was sleeping most of the time, and dark under eye circles could not be because of lack of sleep. She may be depressed.

That crushed my heart.

Last night I called and managed to talk to her over the phone.

Grandma: How are you? I pray that God will keep you from harm.

I felt a huge lump in my throat. Caring was a reflex action. Even in times of pain, she would still think of other’s well-being above herself. That was how selfless her love for her children and grandchildren.

Grandma: I tripped on the bathroom floor. I can’t walk or stand.
Me: Yes, I heard. How did it happen?
Grandma: I don’t know, it was so sudden.
Me: How’s your ankle, does it hurt?

Silence. I did not get a response. My mother repeated my question to her.

Grandma: Yes, it hurts a little but I’m fine. Are you coming home? You take care of yourself in there, okay?

I told her I was not coming home yet. My mom shifted to a jolly tone and asked grandma to sing for me to lighten up her mood, and this was her song:

Come, Holy Spirit, I need you
Come, sweet Spirit, I pray
Come in your strength and your power
Come in your own gentle way

Tears welled up.

HOPE

Photo from Pinterest

A Grandmother always thinks about her grandchildren day and night even they are not with her and will love them in a way they will never understand.

Leave a Reply

